主席的話 (2018年年報)

2018年帶出興奮及謹慎樂觀

2018年初,我就財政司司長2018-19年財政預算案向特區政府提出了一些建議,敦促政府加強本地物流業,以推動其在未來經濟中扮演更重要的角色。

在建議中,我呼籲特區政府確保香港成為全球物流中心,及在大灣區、一帶一路,和與東盟貿易的發展中繼續扮演重要的角色。此外,在世界經濟急劇轉型的形勢下,特區政府須作出更多努力,準備香港迎接挑戰,和加快香港新空運保安制度的發展流程。

此外,香港 - 東盟自由貿易協定於2019年實施,我亦促請政府須協助業界充份利用這個優勢。

就國際貿易而言,2017年的表現尚算滿意。但儘管美國經濟穩步增長,踏入2018年3月份,我提醒業界須在樂觀中仍須保持謹慎,提高警惕和認清風險,以作出應對。

此外,由於我們的未來將受到科技的重大影響,我們必須解決技術採用和應用的問題;特別是那些在本地開發的技術,以使它們能夠在現實商業世界中蓬勃發展。

但是,我們缺乏在西方如德國等,將私營商業、研究人員和研究機構聯繫在一起的合作關係和有效機制。我認為政府可以在促進互利夥伴關係方面出一分力。

在粵港澳大灣區概念下,香港和深圳將能發揮更好的協同效應,在技術方面更緊密合作。

4月底,我很榮幸獲邀參與香港貿易發展局經貿代表團訪問西安。我對當地的發展潛力和商機感到非常興奮,並立即建議貿發局為香港物流業界特別組織一次西安考察團。

西安是西北地區的交通樞紐,我看到香港-西安在物流、創新和科技方面龐大的合作機會。

香港是一個完善的國際商業中心,提供全面的專業服務,以配合商業企業的建立和營運。作為全球金融中心,香港當能提供重要的財務支援。因此,香港-西安合作將會是互惠互利的。

年中,我呼籲業界要謹慎應對貿易戰。我敦促香港的入口商、出口商和付貨人在美國貿易衝突加劇時,採取一切預防措施。

貿易衝突將會加劇並持續下去,這問題確是很複雜,並且在不久將來必然會發生重大變化。在這種情況下,我提出一些方法去協助貿易商和付貨人,包括提醒他們必須極度關注最新發展;在進行交易時必須特別注意風險評估、管理和緩解措施。出口商還可以探索外包生產的選擇,或向東盟等國家供應產品以減低風險。

踏入下半年,小心謹慎仍是我對付貨人的忠告。

中美貿易戰依然是最熱門的話題,廠家將生產基地從珠江三角洲遷移到東盟國家,尤其是印度支那等國家的興趣大增,我提醒他們宜細心尋找東盟新商機。

我特別對中小企業提出一些建議,以作好裝備。就此類決定,最重要的肯定是選擇合適的國家和地點。雖然統稱為東盟,但其成員在政治、社會經濟制度、文化、傳統、發展階段、管理意識形態、種族和宗教等方面均截然不同,複雜程度也迥異。

因此,在作出投資決策之前,大家必須進行仔細而徹底的調查,而不是僅僅依靠顧問的研究。

在年底,香港和亞太區物流業界感興趣的兩個熱門話題是行政長官在2018年施政報告中提出的「明日大嶼」計劃,以及在10月開通的港珠澳大橋。

明日大嶼的道路連接段將大大改善整個香港交通系統的佈局,提供理想的分流和新交通系統,有利於客運和貨運。整體交通效率將進一步提升。

作為香港付貨人委員會主席,我必須重申連繫性、便捷通道和良好基礎設施的重要性。這些是良好物流的核心,對維持香港貿易和物流活動的競爭力十分重要。

同樣,港珠澳大橋也十分重要。一些評論認為大橋是一頭大白象項目。但是,歷史告訴我們,這些評論往往過於短視。對赤鱲角機場、深圳灣跨境通道,甚至港鐵工程在70年代提出時,我們也聽過類似的評論。

2018年無疑是動盪的一年,幸而香港最終憑藉與內地建立起更廣泛的聯繫,使其在擴展區內和全球物流網絡時,有更佳的流動性、連繫性、和安全性。

 

我謹慎樂觀地去期待今年物流業的收穫將會如何。物流和科技前景可期,令我可稍稍樂觀。

Chairman’s Message (Annual Report 2018)

2018 Prompted Cautious Optimism And Excitement

We kicked off 2018 by presenting a challenging wish list to urge the government to bolster local logistics industry as a way to give credit to its increasingly important role in the future economy.

This included ensuring Hong Kong remains a global logistics centre, all while playing a significant role in the Greater Bay Area, the Belt & Road Initiative, and other ASEAN developments. We also urged the government to prepare Hong Kong to meet the challenges of the rapid and major transformation of the world economy and expedite the development of a new air cargo security regime for Hong Kong.

Furthermore, we pushed the government to assist our trade market in taking full advantage of the Hong Kong-ASEAN Free Trade Agreement, which will be implemented in 2019.

Sailing into March and April, we were quick to remind the industry to be cautiously optimistic for 2018 and alerted the sector to stay alert all the time and plan for risks, even though the US economy was on track for steady growth in 2018; thankfully 2017 was not a bad year as far as international trade was concerned.

We also wholeheartedly pointed out that our future would be considerably shaped by technology, and this means that we must deal with the issue of adoption and application of technology, especially for those technologies developed natively so that these technologies could be applied and thrive in the real business world.

It is also important to note the lack of collaboration or an effective mechanism that links the private sector and the researchers and research institutions together like in the West such as Germany. This is something the government could play a part in to promote this kind of mutually beneficial partnership.

I also highlighted the anticipated synergy for Hong Kong and Shenzhen to work closer together on the technology front as a result of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area concept.

After my visit to Xian in late April 2018, which was conducted as a member of a major trade and economic delegation of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council, I was so encouraged by the development potentials and business opportunities there that I immediately suggested HKTDC to organise a dedicated visit for the Hong Kong logistics sector.

As Xian is known for being a well-connected transport hub of the north-west, I can foresee ample opportunities for cooperation between Hong Kong and Xian, in terms of logistical and technological innovations.

Hong Kong is a well-established international business centre with comprehensive professional services that can cater for establishment and operations of commercial enterprises. As a global financial centre, we can provide crucial financial support so that a Hong Kong-Xian partnership will no doubt stand to be a mutually beneficial arrangement.

As we passed the mid-year mark, I sent out a high-level alert to caution the industry of the impact of the trade war.

I urged Hong Kong importers, exporters, and shippers to take all precautionary measures against intensification of trade conflicts, especially trade made with the United States.

I warned that trade conflicts would expand and could be long-lasting; I also stressed that the issue was highly complex and there were bound to be substantial changes in due course.

I also put forward advice to help traders and shippers counter the unfavourable situation, such as advising them to be more watchful of upcoming developments, apply thorough risk assessment and management techniques, and explore the various options of out-sourcing production or supply of products to countries like ASEAN countries in order to lessen the impact.

Coming towards the end of 2018, caution was, once again, my mantra.

I made sure the industry would proceed carefully in exploring an alternative ASEAN market. With the Sino-US trade war still in progress, there were increasing interests in relocating manufacturing facilities from the Pearl River Delta (PRD) to ASEAN countries - especially those in Indo-China.

I shared some insights with SMEs to better prepare and protect themselves in their relocations such as how to select the right country, as well as the potential risks in terms of political and socio-economical systems, cultures, traditions, stages of development, governing ideologies, races, religions, and so on.

The rule of thumb would be to carry out careful and thorough studies, instead of relying solely on studies from consultants before making significant investment decisions for relocation.

As 2018 came to a close, I was delighted to highlight two very significant topics of great interest for logistics industrialists in Hong Kong, and the Asia Pacific region: the Lantau Tomorrow project and the opening of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge on October 23, 2018.

The road links from the Lantau Tomorrow project will provide critical improvement to the layout of the whole Hong Kong transport system. Furthermore, it will provide the desirable diversion and new traffic systems, and it will benefit both passenger and cargo traffic. Overall, traffic efficiency would be greatly enhanced.

As Chairman of The Hong Kong Shippers¡¦ Council, I must reiterate the importance of connectivity, ease of access, and good infrastructure. These are core of good logistics, which is critical for maintaining competitiveness of Hong Kong’s trading and logistics activities.

Likewise, the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge is important. Some critics said that the project would be a white elephant.

However, history tells us that those comments are often found to be too short-sighted. We have heard similar comments regarding Hong Kong International Airport, the Shenzhen Bay Crossing, and even the MTR project when the idea was first raised in the 1970s.

Obviously, 2018 was another roller-coaster year but at least it ended on a cautiously positive note with Hong Kong being thrown a lifeline in terms of having wider connectivity with the mainland for better mobility, connectivity as well as safety in the big picture of expanding logistics for the region and the world.

While I eagerly await to see what this year will reap, I still do so with cautious optimism. However, with such exciting logistical and technological prospects awaiting us, I could perhaps err on the side of optimism just a little more this time.